Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
View All Matches
England's ODI series streak and Fakhar joins the 200 club
Stats Corner

England's ODI series streak and Fakhar joins the 200 club

8 – The number of bilateral ODI series England have won on the trot. The world number one ODI team has not lost a series, excluding one-off game against Scotland, since January 2017 when they lost 2-1 in India. They marked their eighth consecutive series win last week when they defeated India by eight wickets in Leeds to take the series 2-1. It also ended India’s streak of 9 consecutive series wins. The world record is 14 consecutive bilateral series (won by Windies between 1980 and 1988).

15 – The number of consecutive ODIs in which Jos Buttler has kept the wickets without conceding a bye. The third ODI against India in Leeds was his 15th game in a row in which he didn’t concede a single bye. He became the first from England and sixth overall to have a stretch of 15 ODIs without a bye. Interestingly, his counterpart MS Dhoni had also gone 14 consecutive ODIs without making a mistake behind the stumps but his streak ended when he failed to collect a ball by Yuzvendra Chahal in Leeds. The record belongs to Romesh Kaluwitharana who kept in 20 ODIs between 2000 and 2001 without a bye.

304 – The partnership between Fakhar and Imam in the fourth ODI against Zimbabwe, the first 300plus stand for the opening wicket in ODI history and highest for any wicket by Pakistan breaking 263 runs stand between Aamer Sohail and Inzamam-ul-Haq against New Zealand in Sharjah in 1994. Overall, it was only the fourth 300plus partnership in ODI history.

399 – The number of runs scored by Pakistan in the fourth ODI against Zimbabwe, their highest ever total in ODIs and highest by any team for the loss of one wicket. Pakistan’s previous highest total was 385 against Bangladesh in Dambulla in 2010 whereas the previous highest ODI total for the loss of one wicket was 362 by India against Australia in Jaipur in 2013.

2 – The number of left-arm bowlers to take 9 wickets in an innings in Tests. South Africa’s Keshav Maharaj became only the second left-armer in 141 years Test history when he removed nine Sri Lankan batsmen in the second Test at Colombo (SSC). Maharaj finished with 9-129 in the first innings. Only other southpaw bowler to take nine an innings is Sri Lanka’s Rangana Herath who grabbed 9 for 127 against Pakistan, also at SSC, in 2014. Maharaj is also the first to take 9 wickets for South Africa since the readmission.

122 – The number of years after which South Africa have been bowled out for less than 150 in three consecutive innings in Tests. Their three totals on the tour of Sri Lanka have been: 124 in Colombo and 73 and 126 in Galle. The last time when South Africa had three consecutive sub-150 totals in Tests was in 1896 when they were bowled out for 117, 115 and 134 against England.

0 – The number of teams before South Africa to register five consecutive totals below 150 in the subcontinent. South Africa’s last five totals in the subcontinent are 124, 73, 126 in Sri Lanka and 143 and 121 in India. No other team has been bowled out for a sub-150 total in five consecutive innings in Asia. The previous record was four innings by Bangladesh between 2000 and 2001. The Proteas average total in the last ten innings in the subcontinent is only 136.