Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
View All Matches
Sethi succeeds Shahryar Khan as PCB chief
Pakistan News

Sethi succeeds Shahryar Khan as PCB chief

The PCB Board of Governors (BoG) has unanimously picked Najam Sethi as the board chairman for the next three years as no other candidate filed nomination papers for the coveted post.

Sethi had been touted to replace Shehryar Khan since the latter had announced in March that he will not contest the elections after his term ends.

Pakistan’s former Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif had Sethi as one of his two nominees for this BoG. The other nominee was Arif Ejaz – a prominent corporate figure.

According to the PCB constitution, the chairman has to be elected from the BoG members.

"It is a big responsibility on me and with the BoG’s cooperation we will move forward,” Sethi said in a press conference after his election.

"There are challenges but the main target is to make domestic cricket much stronger and keep tapping into the talent. The other major issue is that our all hard work will go in vain if we are not able to bring international cricket back to the country.

“There are security issues. One day we decide that a team will come and then something happens. Over the next 2-3 months you will hear some good announcements.”

This is Sethi's second term in charge after the long battle over the leadership of the PCB between Zaka Ashraf and Sethi, which ended in May 2014; there had been multiple leadership changes in the PCB, after Ashraf became the first elected PCB chairman in May 2013.