Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
No live scores available
View All Matches
Gladiators pick Archer, Mills replaces Johnson for Kings

Gladiators pick Archer, Mills replaces Johnson for Kings

Jofra Archer, Tymal Mills, Joe Denly, Anton Devicich and Lendl Simmons will be a part of Pakistan Super League’s third season after they were selected in a replacement draft held in Lahore on Monday.

All six franchises tweaked their roster, replacing players unavailable for various reasons ahead of the third edition of the league, scheduled to be played from February 22. Only five players who had been originally drafted in will miss the tournament in its entirety – Johnson, Brathwaite, Luke Wright, Angelo Mathews and Colin Munro. The other replacement players have been brought in as cover for players who are partially available.

Quetta Gladiators picked Sussex's rising sensation Jofra Archer as a replacement for allrounder Carlos Brathwaite who will miss the PSL and will instead play for West Indies in the World Cup qualifiers. Archer has been in brilliant form in the BBL and has landed an IPL contract worth $1.125 million only a few days ago. He continued to impress with his rapid pace for Hobart Hurricanes. In addition, he has a strike-rate of 143.93 with the bat, which makes him an exciting prospect.

Tymal Mills will return for his second PSL after he was roped in by Karachi Kings in place of former Australia quick Mitchell Johnson, who had pulled out of the tournament, citing personal reasons.

Joe Denly and Lendl Simmons will replace Luke Wright (injured) and Colin Munro (international commitment) in Karachi squad. Wright had played for Quetta in the first two seasons, before being selected by Karachi this season.

Anton Devicich will replace Angelo Mathews in Lahore Qalandars after SLC denied a No Objection Certificate (NOC) to Mathews, forcing Lahore Qalandars to pick a replacement.

Lahore also drafted in West Indies wicketkeeper-batsman Denesh Ramdin to replace Bangladesh's Mustafizur Rahman, who will be available for a few games before joining the Bangladesh side.

Islamabad United brought in Sri Lanka allrounder Asela Gunaratne, England quick Steven Finn and West Indies batsman Chadwick Walton to replace JP Duminy, David Willey and Alex Hales.

Bangladesh's Tamim Iqbal and Shakib Al Hasan – who are both part of defending champions Peshawar Zalmi's squad - will also only be available for the first four games of the tournament. They will then join the national team for a tri-series that also involves Sri Lanka and India. Peshawar also brought in Dwayne Smith and Liam Dawson as cover.

Quetta's Mahmudullah, also unavailable for the same reason, was replaced by Australia fast bowler John Hastings. Gladiators also brought in South African allrounder Albie Morkal, Sydney Thunder spinner Chris Green and Adelaide Strikers pacer Ben Laughlin to cover for Jason Roy, Rashid Khan and Jofra Archer.

Afghan spinner Zahir Khan joins Multan Sultans to provide cover for West Indian batsman Nicholas Pooran for the first three games of the tournament. Pooran will join the Sultans after finishing with the domestic 50-over competition back home.