Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
No live scores available
View All Matches
BBL Final: Scorchers look to repeat 2015 glory
Big Bash League

BBL Final: Scorchers look to repeat 2015 glory

It was the second time Perth Scorchers and Sydney Sixers faced off in a BBL final. The first time it was settled in Sixers’ favour. The urge to avenge the defeat of the inaugural final’s defeat was itching Scorchers — defending their title in 2015.

The BBL04 final at Manuka Oval, Canberra set off with Sixers’ wicket in the second over. Scorchers, who were dominating the season for the second year, had got an opening and they made the most of it.

Leading Sixers’ side, Moises Henriques struck 77 from 57 deliveries at number four to take his side to a respectable 147 but little he had known that he had written script for BBL’s most memorable final.

With 7.40 required in an over, Scorchers’ got off to a thumping start as their openers Shaun Marsh and Michael Klinger put up a 70-run stand. But soon the match swung like a pendulum when Brett Lee removed Klinger in the 12th over. Despite Scorchers’ skipper Adam Voges, no batsman made it into the double-figures and from three down for 131 in 18.1, the batting side were six down for 147 on the penultimate ball.

A single off the last ball defended their title as Scorchers were crowned the BBL champions for the second time.

Scorchers’, who host the final for probably the last time at WACA with their home ground shifting to the new Perth Stadium next year, will hope the Saturday’s encounter to end exactly in the same manner.

They will be without the services of Marsh, who struck back to back fifties in the last two matches, as he preps for the Richard-Hadlee Trophy in New Zealand. The New Zealand-Australia series has also bitten Sixers’ who will miss Colin Munro.

Mitchell Johnson’s sizzling three for three during the semi-final against Melbourne Stars makes him the player to look forward to in the much-anticipated final.