Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
No live scores available
View All Matches
Kohli rested, Rohit to lead India in T20 tri-series
Nidahas T20I Tri Series

Kohli rested, Rohit to lead India in T20 tri-series

India's Rohit Sharma will captain the country's 15-member Twenty20 squad for the tri-nation series against Sri Lanka and Bangladesh next month, selectors announced on Sunday.

The Indian selectors announced that some team seniors including regular captain Virat Kohli had been rested for the series.

"We have kept in mind the workload and upcoming schedule while finalising the team for Nidahas Trophy 2018," M.S.K Prasad, chairman of the all-India senior selection committee said in a statement.

"The high-performance team has suggested that adequate rest should be given to our fast bowlers to help improve athletic performance, maximise performance, maximise rest and prevent injury," Prasad added.

The tri-nation series will be played at Sri Lanka's R Premadasa Stadium.

India, who lost the Test series against South Africa 2-1, subsequently won both one-day internationals and T20 series this February.

India's squad for the T20 series:

Rohit Sharma (captain), Shikhar Dhawan (vice-captain), KL Rahul, Suresh Raina, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik (wicketkeepter), Deepak Hooda, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Vijay Shankar, Shardul Thakur, Jaydev Unadkat, Mohammed Siraj, Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper)