Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
View All Matches
Suspended players names put on ECL
Pakistan tour of West Indies

Suspended players names put on ECL

FIA had requested the Interior Ministry to put the names of the five involved players on the Exit Control List (ECL) which was approved by the Interior Minister Chaudhry Nisar

Sharjeel Khan, Khalid Latif, Nasir Jamshed, Mohammad Irfan and Shahzaib Hasan have been banned from leaving Pakistan as part of on-going Pakistan Super League (PSL) spot fixing investigation. The players have been handed over charge sheets by the Pakistan Cricket Board's (PCB) anti-corruption tribunal and the Federal Investigation Agency (FIA) has stepped in to launch its own investigation against the the spot-fixing scandal.

Earlier, the FIA had written a letter to Interior Ministry stating that these five players are wanted in the investigation and hence their names should be put on the Exit Control List (ECL) which was subsequently approved by the Interior Minister Chaudhry Nisar.

Among the five involved players, Jamshed is still in Britain after his bail from National Crime Agency until further inquiry. It is pertinent to mention that there is no extradition treaty between Pakistan and Britain but FIA officials can travel to Britain to investigate the charges against Jamshed.

Sharjeel Khan and Khalid Latif were suspended from all forms of cricket during the opening week of PSL and both are likely to face a minimum of five years ban while Shahzaib Hasan and Mohammad Irfan may face a ban of minimum six months.

Earlier the PCB had formed a three member tribunal to hear the spot fixing cases. The tribunal is chaired by Justice (Retd) Asghar Haider, Former PCB Chairman Tauqir Zia and former wicket keeper Wasim Bari.