Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
No live scores available
View All Matches
Qais Ahmed, Chris Gayle star as Legends win inaugural APL
APL 2018

Qais Ahmed, Chris Gayle star as Legends win inaugural APL

Ball-by-ball clips & scorecard: Balkh Legends v Kabul Zwanan - FINAL - Sharjah

Qais Ahmed, Chris Gayle stood out for Balkh Legends as they defeated Kabul Zwanan by four wickets to bag the inaugural APL 2018 title.

After winning the toss and opting to bat first, Kabul’s openers were dismissed early yet again. Ronchi was caught by Mohammad Nabi as he was undone by a slower ball while Hazratullah Zazai was caught and bowled by Mohammad Nabi. Mirwais Ashraf took a brilliant catch at deep square leg to dismiss Colin Ingram as Kabul were reduced to 61/3 at one stage.

Young Qais Ahmed was outstanding for his side as he ran through Kabul’s batting line-up and ended up with figures of 5-18 from his quota of four overs. Kabul Zwanan managed to put on 132 for the loss of nine wickets from 20 overs.

In reply, Colin Munro was dismissed early when he pulled Parnell straight into the hands of deep square leg fielder. Legends were reduced for 6-2 in the first over as the young Darwish Rasooli was cleaned up by Parnell after he was found guilty of playing from the crease. However, Chris Gayle continued his blistering form as his innings of 56 off 34 balls steadied things down for his side. Ten Doeschate couldn't spend much time at the crease either scoring only 12 off just 20 balls.

Ravi Bopara’s 32 off 29 was instrumental in guiding Legends towards the end of the innings. Gulbadin Naib struck the winning runs for his side as Balkh Legends chased the total down for the loss of six wickets.

Qais Ahmed was declared man of the match for his stunning bowling performance.

Top performers

Qais Ahmad (5 for 18)

Chris Gayle 56(34)