Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
View All Matches
No Steyn, Philander for SA in Champions Trophy
ICC Champions Trophy

No Steyn, Philander for SA in Champions Trophy

South Africa has decided against playing Dale Steyn, recovering from a broken bone in his right shoulder, and Veron Philander in the Champions Trophy, starting June 1.

Morne Morkel, who last played a one-day international in June last year, makes it to the 15-man line-up.

Slow left-arm orthodox Keshav Maharaj has also been included in the squad. The 27-year-old has represented the Proteas in seven Tests, picking 26 wickets at an average of 25. He has 95 List A wicket in 74 matches at 29.

South Africa squad: Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock, Faf du Plessis, AB de Villiers (c), JP Duminy, David Miller, Chris Morris, Wayne Parnell, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Imran Tahir, Keshav Maharaj, Dwaine Pretorius, Farhaan Behardien, Morne Morkel

AB De Villiers will lead the side.

South Africa begin their Champions Trophy campaign on June 3. They play Sri Lanka at Kennington Oval in London. They take on Pakistan and India on June 7 and June 11.

For instant updates about the ICC Champions Trophy, download Cricingif's mobile app here.