Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
View All Matches
India Champions Trophy Team Preview
ICC Champions Trophy

India Champions Trophy Team Preview

India are the defending champions of the tournament, and are also only the second team along with Australia to have won the Champions Trophy twice. (The 2002 trophy is shared with Sri Lanka because the final got washed out). India have played 23 CT matches: Won 15, Lost 6 and NR 2. They have a win% of 71.42 which is the highest amongst all teams.

Below is their progress in previous 7 editions of the Champions Trophy.

 India’s progress in previous 7 editions of the Champions Trophy

India’s progress in previous 7 editions of the Champions Trophy

India are in Group B alongside Pakistan, South Africa and Sri Lanka.


Virat Kohli(c), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Yuvraj Singh, Ajinkya Rahane, Dinesh Karthik(wk), Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni(wk)

Virat Kohli has scored 1218 runs at an average of 64.1 in the last 21 ODIs. He’s hit 4 hundreds and 5 fifties since 2016. Despite a poor display of form at this year’s IPL, he will still remain the biggest threat to the opposition. This is also the first time he’ll be captaining India in an ICC tournament.


Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami

Bhuvneshwar Kumar has only played 4 ODI’s in the last 2 years but at this years IPL he got back into rhythm just at the right time. He took 26 wickets at a strike rate of 11.85 and also bagged the best bowler trophy. The English conditions will suit his style of bowling.


Hardik Pandya and Ravindra Jadeja

Trump Card:

Ravindra Jadeja was the man of the match in the final of the 2013 Champions Trophy. He also earned the Golden Ball for taking most wickets: 12 wickets at an economy rate of 3.5. Jadeja also happens to be the number one Test bowler in the world right now.

Recent ODI Form:


After losing 4-1 to Australia in Australia earlier last year, India bounced back well. Since then they’ve won three series back to back against Zimbabwe (away), New Zealand (home) and England(home). This will be Kohli’s biggest test till date as an ODI captain as he will have to prove a point as a player and captain.

Previous Champions Trophy:

India were led to victory by MS Dhoni in the last Champions Trophy as they defeated England in a thrilling rain-affected final. MS Dhoni became the first captain to have won all major ICC tournaments.