Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
No live scores available
View All Matches
Bowlers, van der Dussen guide Jozi Stars to title win
Mzansi Super League

Bowlers, van der Dussen guide Jozi Stars to title win

Ball-by-ball clips & scorecard: Cape Town Blitz v Jozi Stars - Final - Cape Town

The Jozi Stars bagged Mzansi Super League title after a brilliant bowling performance paved the way for an easy eight-wicket win over the disappointing Cape Town Blitz at Newlands.

Lead by the outstanding fast bowling trio of Rabada, Olivier and Beuran Hendricks, the visitors stunned the home batting line-up by restricting them to a sub-par 113/7 on a sluggish pitch in Cape Town.

Rassie van der Dussen – the leading batsman in the competition – struck an unbeaten 55 to propel his side to victory in the inaugural MSL T20 season with 15 deliveries to spare.

Cape Town were rocked in the second over when the in-form Quinton de Kock was dismissed through an excellent catch running back by Reeza Hendricks off Beuran Hendricks for five.

Fellow opener Dawid Malan managed 17, before chipping Olivier straight to Nono Pongolo at mid-off.

Pakistani duo Mohammad Nawaz and Asif Ali were dismissed in quick succession leaving the Blitz in a mess.

Cape Town were restricted to 113 by the end of 20 overs.

But that total proved absolutely no match for the Stars and their star batsman Van der Dussen.

For the Blitz to stand any chance, they needed a good start and got it too when Ryan Rickelton was cleaned up superbly for six by Dale Steyn.

But Reeza Hendricks (33) helped Van der Dussen add 86 for the second wicket to knock the stuffing out of the Cape Town Blitz, with Dane Vilas (4) then accompanying his main man over the line.

Van der Dussen and Olivier added to the Stars triumph by being named leading batsman and bowler of the tournament respectively.

#MSL2018#Final#Mzansi Super League 2018#Cape Town Blitz#Jozi Stars