Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
View All Matches
Sri Lanka tour of New Zealand

Williamson rested, Southee to lead New Zealand in one-off T20I against Sri Lanka

Tim Southee is set to lead New Zealand in next week's one-off T20 match against Sri Lanka.

Regular skipper Kane Williamson is to be rested along with Trent Boult and Colin de Grandhomme.

Southee, who has captained New Zealand twice before, admitted that leading a side in cricket's shortest form can be a bit of a gamble.

"It's about trying to stay a step ahead of the game and a little bit of guessing," he said.

"The way T20 cricket goes it's (about)trying to take a bit of a punt on what you think is going to happen."

All-rounder Jimmy Neesham and opener Martin Guptill, who stood out when New Zealand won the first one-day international on Thursday, are also in the T20 squad.

New Zealand squad

Tim Southee (capt), Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Scott Kuggeleijn, Colin Munro, Jimmy Neesham, Henry Nicholls, Glenn Phillips, Seth Rance, Mitchell Santner, Tim Seifert, Ish Sodhi, Ross Taylor