Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
View All Matches
Larkin, Maxwell power Stars to eight-wicket win over Thunder
Big Bash League

Larkin, Maxwell power Stars to eight-wicket win over Thunder

Ball-by-ball details & scorecard: Melbourne Stars v Sydney Thunder - Match 20 - Queensland

Glenn Maxwell and Nick Larkin stood out with their impressive batting performance as Melbourne Stars comfortably beat Sydney Thunder by eight wickets.

Australia international Maxwell clinched the Stars' third straight win in the Big Bash League with 16 balls remaining by launching a massive six over deep midwicket that took them past the 136-run target.

Melbourne now sit second in the table, while the Thunder slipped to fifth after a third loss in their last four outings.

Sydney opener Jos Buttler reclaimed his place as this season's leading run-scorer from D'Arcy Short, but he fell for just 18 and Scott Boland (2-28) added the scalp of Callum Ferguson for a golden duck off the next ball.

England Test captain Joe Root made 26 off 28 deliveries before being dislodged by Marcus Stoinis, who also denied Daniel Sams a half-century after he stuck four sixes en route to a 25-ball 42.

Stoinis played an important role with his 34 off 22 balls for the Stars, but it was Maxwell and Larkin who got their side over the line in some style.