Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
No live scores available
View All Matches
India, Pakistan to take on Australia for opening fixtures of World T20
World T20

India, Pakistan to take on Australia for opening fixtures of World T20

Hosts Australia will take on Pakistan's men and India's women for the opening fixtures of the T20 World Cups in 2020, organizers said Tuesday as the fixtures for the tournaments were announced.

The T20 World Cups are being held in the same year and in the same country for the first time, with the men's and women's finals to be played at one of the world's biggest stadiums, the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

Ten women's teams will compete in 23 matches from February 21 to March 8, with current champions Australia to take on India in the opening game in Sydney.

The men's competition, which will run from October 18 to November 15, will consist of several qualifying matches before Australia kick off the Super 12 group stages on October 24 against No 1 ranked Pakistan side at the SCG.

Australia, Pakistan, the West Indies, New Zealand and two qualifiers make up one side of the draw, with defending champions the Windies starting their title defence against the Black Caps on October 25.

India, England, South Africa and Afghanistan and two qualifying sides make up the other side of the draw.

The women's final will be played on March 8 to coincide with International Women's Day, and the men's final will be held on November 15.

Women's group stages (February 21 - March 3)

Group A: Australia, New Zealand, India, Sri Lanka, Qualifier 1

Group B: England, West Indies, South Africa, Pakistan, Qualifier 2

Semi-finals: March 5

Final: March 8

Men's qualifiers: October 18 - 23

Group stages (October 24 - November 8)

Group 1: Pakistan, Australia, West Indies, New Zealand, two qualifiers

Group 2: India, England, South Africa, Afghanistan, two qualifiers

Semi-finals: November 11 and 12

Final: November 15