Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
No live scores available
View All Matches
Starc ruled out of India tour as Australia announce squad for ODIs, T20Is
India tour of Australia

Starc ruled out of India tour as Australia announce squad for ODIs, T20Is

Pace spearhead Mitchell Starc was ruled out of Australia's one-day and T20I series against India with a "substantial" muscle tear, joining fellow quick bowler Josh Hazlewood on the sidelines.

Australia are set to play two T20s and five ODIs against the Indians from later this month which as an important build-up to their World Cup title defence in England this year.

But they will be doing so with a depleted attack.

Starc, man-of-the-match after grabbing a ten-wicket haul in the second Test against Sri Lanka in Canberra this week, will miss the series.

Hazlewood remains sidelined as he recovers from a back injury picked up in Australia's Test series loss to India.

"Unfortunately, scans have revealed that Mitchell Starc sustained a substantial tear to his left pec muscle while bowling on the final day of the Test match in Canberra," said national selector Trevor Hohns.

"This means he will be unavailable for the tour of India, but we will instead target a return to play for the ODI series against Pakistan in the UAE in March."

But veteran seamer Peter Siddle, fast bowler Billy Stanlake and all-rounder Marsh were dropped, which has opened the door for pacemen Kane Richardson and Nathan Coulter-Nile, and hard-hitting batsman Ashton Turner.

"Kane has been in outstanding form over the summer, including his recent performances in the Big Bash League," said Hohns.

"Kane not only has experience playing ODI cricket for Australia, but he's also performed well for his country when given the opportunity.

"Nathan Coulter-Nile provides us with another quality bowling option," he added.

With Hazlewood out, Pat Cummins has been named co-vice captain alongside Alex Carey.

The squad for the Pakistan series, that immediately follows India tour, will be named later with the possibility of Steve Smith and David Warner making a comeback for the latter part once their bans for ball-tampering finish on March 29.

Australia Squad

Aaron Finch (capt), Usman Khawaja, Shaun Marsh, Peter Handscomb, Glenn Maxwell, Ashton Turner, Marcus Stoinis, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, Jason Behrendorff, Nathan Lyon, Adam Zampa, D'Arcy Short