Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
View All Matches
Home
>
News
>
Shannon Gabriel charged by ICC over alleged homophobic remark
England in West Indies

Shannon Gabriel charged by ICC over alleged homophobic remark

West Indies fast bowler Shannon Gabriel was charged by the ICC with a breach of conduct after allegedly making a homophobic remark in an exchange with England captain Joe Root during the third and final Test in St Lucia.

Stump microphones picked up an interaction on the third day between Gabriel and Root, in which the latter responded: "Don't use it as an insult. There's nothing wrong with being gay."

The cricket’s governing body said Gabriel had been charged with a breach of its code of conduct in relation to the "personal abuse" of a player, umpire or match referee.

"The charge, which was laid by match umpires, will now be dealt with by Match Referee Jeff Crowe. Until the proceedings have concluded, the ICC will not comment further," it said in a tweet.

Root refused to reveal the details about what Gabriel said to him when asked by reporters.