Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
View All Matches
Pakistan News

Wasim Akram and Waqar Younis to be conferred with Hilal-e-Imtiaz

Former Pakistan captains Wasim Akram and Waqar Younis will be receiving Hilal-e-Imtiaz, the country’s second highest civilian award.

Wasim and Waqar have previously been conferred with the Pride of Performance awards in 1992 and 1995, respectively.

Along with Akram and Younis, leg-spinner Yasir Shah will be awarded with Sitara-e-Imtiaz, the country’s third highest civilian award.

Yasir has had a stellar Test career so far with 203 Test wickets to his name. Against New Zealand last year, he became the fastest to 200 Test wickets, beating an 82-year-old record of Australia’s leg-spinner Clarrie Grimmett who took 36 Tests to reach the landmark against South Africa in Johannesburg in 1936.

“The three are deserving recipients,” said PCB in a statement.

“Wasim and Waqar are highly-respected commentators and have played their role in enhancing the image of Pakistan and cricket as broadcasters, while Yasir has had a lion’s share in Pakistan’s major Test wins in the recent past.”

The trio will receive their awards on March 23 by president Dr Arif Alvi.