Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
No live scores available
View All Matches
Delhi lose 7 for 8 to gift Punjab their third win of IPL 2019
IPL 2019

Delhi lose 7 for 8 to gift Punjab their third win of IPL 2019

Delhi Capitals lost seven wickets for just eight runs in a span of 17 deliveries to gift Kings XI Punjab their third win of the season. Chasing a rather moderate total of 167, Delhi were 144 when they lost Rishabh Pant (39 off 26) in the 17th over with 23 needed off 20 balls. It looked like a walk in the park with Colin Ingram (38 off 29) batting at the other end and the likes of Chris Morris and Hanuma Vihari still to come. But what followed was a horror show from the visitors. It all started with a Morris run out as he ran for a suicidal run by tapping his ball down the throat of mid-off where Ravichandran Ashwin made no mistake, catching the South African well short of his crease. Ingram followed next over, the first of Sam Curran's four victims when he drilled the Englishman straight to the long-off. Hashal Patel (0) was caught behind two balls later for Curran's second wicket of the day. Vihari (2) was castled by Mohammad Shami in the next over while Curran removed Kagiso Rabada (0) and Sandeep Lamichhane (0) on the first two deliveries of the 20th over to complete an unimaginable victory for the home side.

Delhi's chase was anchored by Shikhar Dhawan (30 off 25), Shreyas Iyer (28 off 22) before Pant and Ingram arrived and the victory looked fairly in sight.

Sam Curran finished with the figures of 4-11 in 2.2 overs while Ashwin and Shami returned with 2-31 and 2-27 respectively.

Earlier, a Chris Gayle-less Kings XI Punjab notched up 166 for 9 courtesy David Miller (43 off 30), Sarfraz Khan (39 off 29) and Mandeep Singh (29* off 21). Sam Curran, promoted to open the innings in the absence of Gayle, scored 20 off 10 balls at the top.

Chris Morris finished with 3-30 while Kagiso Rabada and Sandeep Lamichhane returned with 2-32 and 2-27 respectively.

Curran was adjudged the player of the match for his match-winning spell.