Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
No live scores available
View All Matches
Virat Kohli named Wisden's leading cricketer for third consecutive year
Wisden Awards

Virat Kohli named Wisden's leading cricketer for third consecutive year

Virat Kohli was named as one of Wisden's Five Cricketers of the Year and also became the first player to bag the award for leading cricketer in the world in three consecutive years.

The India captain put to bed questions over his ability to perform in English conditions last year, leading the Test run charts with 593 runs and two centuries even though his side was on the losing side.

Kohli, who stands on top of the Test and ODI rankings, scored 2,735 runs in all formats in 2018, edging his English rival Joe Root by more than 700 runs.

"His struggles in English conditions were consigned to history, and Kohli banished any doubt about being regarded as the outstanding player of the era," Wisden said in a statement announcing its awards.

The other cricketers of the year were England's Sam Curran, Jos Buttler and Rory Burns, plus prolific England women's player Tammy Beaumont.

Players can only receive Wisden's cricketer of the year award, given primarily for feats achieved during the preceding English domestic season, once in their career.

"In making hundreds in South Africa, England and Australia, as well as at home, he showed a mastery of all conditions and bowling attacks," Wisden said. "The pressure never cowed him."

India's Smriti Mandhana bagged the women's award, with Afghanistan leg-spinner Rashid Khan retaining his title as leading T20 cricketer in the world.

The latest edition of Wisden Cricketers' Almanack, considered the ‘Bible’ of the game, is published on April 11.