Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
View All Matches
Pattinson, Harris get Cricket Australia's contracts for 2019-20 season
Australia News

Pattinson, Harris get Cricket Australia's contracts for 2019-20 season

James Pattinson and Marcus Harris on Monday were named in Cricket Australia's nationally contracted players, but there was no room for Cameron Bancroft, Peter Siddle and Marnus Labuschagne.

The list of 20 players were offered deals for the 2019-2020 season on the basis of their performances over the past 12 months and as expected, included the duo of Steve Smith and David Warner.

They were omitted last year after being suspended over the ball-tampering scandal in Cape Town. Bancroft, who was banned for nine months over the same incident, also missed out.

"We believe the 2019-20 contract list provides us with a versatile group of players who can represent Australia across all three formats over the contract period," said chief selector Trevor Hohns.

"Our key criteria focused on selecting a pool of players who are going to help us in our ambition to win the upcoming World Cup and Ashes series in England, and who can also play the various formats over the course of the Australian summer."

Other players to be overlooked included Joe Burns and Kurtis Patterson. They, along with Labuschagne, recently played Test cricket.

Matt Renshaw, Kane Richardson, Billy Stanlake, Andrew Tye, Mitchell Marsh and Ashton Agar, who previously were contracted, did not have them renewed.

Fast bowler Nathan Coulter-Nile, who wasn't included last year, made it to the list, but James Pattinson was the biggest surprise having battled back from back surgery at the end of 2017.

Contracted list

Pat Cummins, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Alex Carey, Aaron Finch, Usman Khawaja, Peter Handscomb, Marcus Harris, Travis Head, Josh Hazlewood, Nathan Lyon, Glenn Maxwell, Shaun Marsh, Tim Paine, James Pattinson, Jhye Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa