Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
View All Matches
Steyn and Guptill join Euro T20 Slam
Euro T20 Slam

Steyn and Guptill join Euro T20 Slam

Martin Guptill and Dale Steyn have joined a roster of international stars set to feature in the inaugural Euro T20 Slam, slated to commence on August 30.

The injury-prone Steyn was earlier forced to withdraw from the World Cup without playing a game and has now been included in the tournament's first edition as one the "marquee" players alongside JP Duminy, Imran Tahir, Chris Lynn, Babar Azam and Luke Ronchi.

Guptill joins the list of former and current cricketers designated as the icon players in Euro T20 Slam which boast the names of Brendon McCullum, Eoin Morgan, Shahid Afridi, Shane Watson and Rashid Khan.

The three-week Euro T20 Slam will have six franchises based in different cities in Ireland, Scotland and Netherlands - the three countries which will jointly host the tournament.

"I am really excited to be a part of the inaugural Euro T20 Slam," said Guptill, who has been flopping consistently in this World Cup though he would be looking to overturn his fortunes in the must-win encounter against England on Wednesday.

"All the content is creating a lot of hype and I am really lucky to be a part of the league this year."

Steyn also voiced his anticipation to participate in the brand new league.

"I can't wait to get over there and get things going."

The Euro T20 Slam comprise of 33 matches that will take place from August 30 to September 22, in the countries that were not part of the World Cup this year.

The eclectic mix of established names in the T20 circuit and local talent affords the league a glitzy outlook that will pave the way for popularizing the sport in the region.