Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
No live scores available
View All Matches
Ireland squad finalized for Lord's Test against England
Ireland in England 2019

Ireland squad finalized for Lord's Test against England

As many as four uncapped players have been included in Ireland's 14-member squad for the historic Test at Lord's against England due to commence shortly after the World Cup final.

Four changes have been made to the Ireland Test squad that faced Afghanistan earlier this year, with James Cameron-Dow, George Dockrell, Barry McCarthy and Stuart Poynter being left out from the side.

Gary Wilson makes a return to the team after having participated in his country's first ever Test match against Pakistan in Dublin last year. Meanwhile, seamers Mark Adair and Craig Young have impressed in the domestic circuit and as a result, been rewarded for their consistent performances

Ireland are yet to register a win the longest format after being granted Test status alongside Afghanistan in June 2017.

They have already met England in eleven international matches previously, having achieved a memorable win over their neighbours during the 2011 World Cup.

Hero of that record chase, Kevin O'Brien will also be a part of this momentous encounter against England.

Andrew White, chairman of selectors, believed the Ireland players would take heart from their fightback during the Malahide ODI in May.

“The historic nature of this Test match will not be lost on anyone, however, the players will not be overawed by the occasion.

"I think we demonstrated the fight and talent we possess in the recent ODI against England at Malahide, and I expect the players will look to be just as competitive in the Test arena."

White expressed optimism regarding Ireland's chances of making progress in the near future as they will get a chance to clash with top sides in the world.

"This may only be our third Test, but we have 11 more to play over the next three years and our two Tests to date have shown glimpses of the potential we possess."

Ireland squad

William Porterfield (c), Mark Adair, Andrew Balbirnie, Andrew McBrine, James McCollum, Tim Murtagh, Kevin O'Brien, Boyd Rankin, Simi Singh, Paul Stirling, Stuart Thompson, Lorcan Tucker, Gary Wilson (wk), Craig Young