Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
View All Matches
Dharmasena to officiate World Cup final despite Roy howler
ICC Cricket World Cup 2019

Dharmasena to officiate World Cup final despite Roy howler

Kumar Dharmasena has been named as one of the two on-field umpires for the World Cup final between England and New Zealand despite the Sri Lankan finding himself in the middle of a controversy involving opening batsman Jason Roy during Thursday's semi-final.

Roy missed out on a century against Australia in his side's emphatic eight-wicket win over the Ashes rivals as he was adjudged caught behind by Dharmasena while hooking the ball.

A clearly surprised Roy challenged the decision with a review but preceding batsman Jonny Bairstow had already expended England's sole review of the innings.

Despite not having a review up their sleeve, Dharmasena wrongly gestured towards the third umpire only to be reminded by the Australian players about his mistake.

Roy then got into a spat with Dharmasena and kept arguing with him to instead signal a wide since he had not touched the ball.

Also Read: Jason Roy fined for showing dissent at umpire's decision

The heated discussion subsided only when square-leg umpire Marais Erasmus intervened and Roy trudged back to the pavilion with his foul language audible on the stump mic.

Replays confirmed Roy's concerns given the daylight between bat and ball.

As a result of his outburst, the 28-year-old was fined 30 percent of his match fee and given two demerit points although he is free to play in the final at Lord's since a minimum of four demerit points causes the imposition of a ban.

Erasmus will accompany Dharmasena as the other umpire in the tournament's concluding match while the veteran Sri Lankan Ranjan Madugalle will supervise proceedings as the match referee.

Third umpire duties will be undertaken by Australia's Rod Tucker who will replace New Zealand's Chris Gaffaney in a bid to maintain the practice of keeping neutral umpires at ICC events. Meanwhile, Aleem Dar will serve as the fourth official.