Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
View All Matches
Dickwella, Gunathilaka return to Sri Lanka squad for Bangladesh series
Sri Lanka News

Dickwella, Gunathilaka return to Sri Lanka squad for Bangladesh series

Several players left out of the Sri Lanka squad that participated in the World Cup have staged a return to the national side for the upcoming ODI series against Bangladesh.

The selectors have opted for a 22-member squad for the three one-day internationals which sees the likes of Niroshan Dickwella, Danushka Gunathilaka, Akila Dananjaya and Lakshan Sandakan make a comeback to the line-up.

Milinda Siriwardana, Jeevan Mendis, Suranga Lakmal and Jeffrey Vandersay are the notable omissions as they failed to register impressive performances in the showpiece event.

Former Sri Lanka skipper Dinesh Chandimal continues to be sidelined by the selectors despite the prevailing fragility in the middle order.

Sri Lanka, who finished sixth in the points table and were unable to progress to the next round, will be led by Dimuth Karunaratne for the Bangladesh tour of the island nation.

Veteran pacer Lasith Malinga will be spearheading the bowling attack one final time as he is set to retire after the three-match contest.

All three games will be hosted at the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo with the first ODI to be conducted on July 26.

Sri Lanka squad: Dimuth Karunaratne (captain), Kusal Perera, Avishka Fernando, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Lahiru Thirimane, Shehan Jayasuriya, Dhananjaya de Silva, Niroshan Dickwella, Danushka Gunathileke, Dasun Shanaka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Akila Dananjaya, Amila Aponso, Lakshan Sandakan, Lasith Malinga, Nuwan Pradeep, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara, Thisara Perera, Isuru Udana, Lahiru Madusanka