Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
No live scores available
View All Matches
Dharmasena admits his 'error of judgment' in World Cup final
ICC Cricket World Cup 2019

Dharmasena admits his 'error of judgment' in World Cup final

Umpire Kumar Dharmasena has conceded his mistake in awarding England six runs for an overthrow during the last moments of the tense World Cup final between the hosts and New Zealand.

He admitted England were given one extra run owing to his "error of judgment" as Eoin Morgan's side ultimately benefitted from this and dragged the game into an enthralling Super Over shootout.

The bizarre incident occurred in the final over of England's chase when a throw from Martin Guptill in the deep struck the diving Ben Stokes' bat and the ball ricocheted off the blade to the boundary fence.

Dharmasena, after consultation with square leg umpire Marais Erasmus, decided to give England six runs reasoning that Stokes was approaching for the second run at the time of the overthrow.

50 overs of each innings and the Super Over could still not separate the scores of the two teams and England were adjudged winners on the basis of a superior boundary count.

Dharmasena's critical decision in the final over was disapproved by former elite umpire Simon Taufel who believed England should instead have been given five runs for the overthrow while Adil Rashid ought to have been on strike for the penultimate delivery.

The Sri Lankan umpire Dharmasena accepted his decision was erroneous but remarked the on-field umpires did not have the benefit of television replays which would have shown the two batsmen had not crossed when the throw was launched.

"I agree that there was an error of judgment when I see it on TV replays now," Dharmasena told the local Sunday Times.

'We did not have the luxury of TV replays'

The former Test cricketer also added he did not regret the decision made during the tournament final.

"But we did not have the luxury of TV replays at the ground and I do not regret the decision I made."

"So, I did consult the leg umpire (Erasmus) through the communication system which is heard by all other umpires and the match referee," he said.

"While they cannot check TV replays, they all confirmed that the batsmen have completed the second run. This is when I made my decision."

Taufel had earlier opined the umpires were guilty of a "clear mistake" since Stokes and Rashid had not crossed for the double.

He, nevertheless, defended Dharmasena and Erasmus claiming it was "unfair" to blame the two for altering the outcome of the World Cup.