Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
View All Matches
Rohit, Saha back in India's Test line-up for tour of West Indies
India News

Rohit, Saha back in India's Test line-up for tour of West Indies

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Sunday announced the three Indian squads for Tests, ODIs and T20 internationals which will be partaking in the upcoming tour of the West Indies expected to start on August 3 in Florida.

Rohit Sharma, who finished as the World Cup's highest run-getter, has made a return to India's Test squad to bolster the middle order while premier right-arm paceman Jasprit Bumrah has been rested for the white-ball leg of the tour.

Regular Test wicketkeeper Wriddhiman Saha has also staged a comeback to the national side after a one-year period of absence due to injury.

Saha underwent surgery last year for his shoulder injury and will join the squad as the second wicketkeeper alongside Rishabh Pant.

After leading India to the semi-finals of the World Cup in England and Wales, Virat Kohli would continue to captain his team in all formats against the West Indies.

India's shock defeat to New Zealand at Old Trafford has renewed the team management's focus on prioritizing young talent in order to build a strong unit for the future.

Amidst this backdrop, the T20I and ODI squads boast a couple of uncapped players as fast bowler Navdeep Saini has been included in both line-ups while leg-spinner Rahul Chahar features in the T20 setup.

Meanwhile, flamboyant batsman Pant is one of the few players to be named in all three squads for the tour of the Caribbean Islands.

The inexperienced trio of Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey and Khaleel Ahmed has been recalled to the ODI squad while Hardik Pandya has been rested for the series.

'Retirement is purely individual' - M.S.K Prasad

In the face of rife speculation regarding M.S Dhoni's future in the team, Indian chief selector M.S.K Prasad insisted the 38-year-old was unavailable for the tour.

Dhoni's struggling form was a point of concern during India's World Cup campaign causing a surge in calls for him to retire in the aftermath of the tournament.

"Retirement is purely individual. Legendary cricketer like M.S Dhoni, he knows when to retire," Prasad said.

"We don't need to discuss anything on it, because first of all he is not available. Second, we have already started grooming some youngsters."

Also Read: Dhoni opts out of West Indies tour to serve with army regiment

Ahead of the announcement of the squads, it was revealed that Dhoni had opted to skip the West Indies tour to spend time serving his paramilitary regiment.

Dhoni, who is the honorary Lieutenant Colonel in the Parachute Regiment of the Territorial Army, remains an adored cricketer in his country having led his team to glory in the 2011 World Cup.

India Test squad

Virat Kohli (captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul, C Pujara, Hanuma Vihari, Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant, Wriddhiman Saha, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav

India ODI squad

Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kedar Jadhav, Mohammed Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed, Navdeep Saini

India T20 squad

Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant, Krunal Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Rahul Chahar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed, Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini