Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
View All Matches
Pollard, Narine return to West Indies squad for India T20Is
West Indies News

Pollard, Narine return to West Indies squad for India T20Is

Kieron Pollard and Sunil Narine have been recalled to the West Indies squad for first two India T20Is, it was announced on Tuesday.

Pollard, who was recently left out of the 50-over World Cup squad, last made an appearance for the West Indies T20I side against India in 2018.

Sunil Narine last represented West Indies two years back against England and had opted to miss the World Cup with a finger problem.

The West Indies team will be led by Carlos Brathwaite in the three-match T20 series as Jason Holder has been released from captaincy duties in the shortest format. 

Chris Gayle is a notable omission from the squad as he opted to play for Vancouver Knights in Global T20 Canada.

Andre Russell has been included in the squad but he is still recovering from a knee injury sustained during the World Cup.

The CWI interim chairman of the selectors, Robert Haynes, opined: "We felt that players like Narine and Pollard, who have played well in T20 leagues around the world, once they are fit and mentally ready to play, we must give them the opportunity to represent the West Indies again.

"It’s not just about the present -– the India tour of the West Indies –- but we are also looking at the T20 World Cup coming up next year and it is important that we find the right combination of players and the right formula for defending our title."

The three-match T20I series kicks off from August 3 at the Broward County Stadium in Lauderhill, Florida 

Squad: Carlos Brathwaite (capt), Anthony Bramble (wk), John Campbell, Sheldon Cottrell, Shimron Hetmyer, Evin Lewis, Sunil Narine, Keemo Paul, Khary Pierre, Kieron Pollard, Nicholas Pooran (wk), Rovman Powell, Andre Russell, Oshane Thomas