Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
View All Matches
Pakistan announce Independence Cup squad
World XI tour of Pakistan

Pakistan announce Independence Cup squad

Pakistan has announced a 16-member squad to face the ICC World XI side, scheduled to play three T20Is in Lahore.

The National Selection Committee headed by Inzamam ul Haq selected the squad for the series – named as Independence Cup.

The three-match T20Is series will commence on September 12, followed by remaining two games on September 13 and 15 at Gaddafi Stadium Lahore.

Announcing the squad, Inzamam said: “The team has been selected keeping in mind the conditions and the recent performances of some players in the domestic and international tours. The players’ consists of a combination of the fine blend of youth and senior players.

“Fahim Ashraf, Ruman Raees, and Aamer Yamin make a place in the squad due to their splendid performance in the domestic tournaments, whereas Sohail Khan makes a comeback. It would be good for the young players to get a chance to play on the home ground and perform in front of the local public,” added chief selector Inzamam ul Haq.

Full squad

Sarfraz Ahmad (Captain, WK), Fakhar Zaman, Ahmed Shehzad, Baber Azam, Shoaib Malik, Umer Amin, Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan, Muhammad Nawaz, Faheem Ashraf, Hassan Ali, Amir Yamin, Muhammad Amir, Ruman Raees, Usman Shinwari, Sohail Khan