Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
No live scores available
View All Matches
Shapoor Zadran named in Rashid Khan-led Afghanistan squad
Afghanistan News

Shapoor Zadran named in Rashid Khan-led Afghanistan squad

Shapoor Zadran is back in the international circuit after he earned his maiden Test call-up for the one-off game against Bangladesh next month.

The tall left-arm seamer, who was once a constant presence in Afghanistan's ODI setup, was left out of the squad that featured in the World Cup where the team finished last.

Shapoor alongside Ibrahim Zadran, Qais Ahmad, Sayed Ahmad Shirzad and Zahir Khan Pakteen are the five players part of the 15-man squad who have not yet played a game in the conventional five-day format.

The one-off Test will mark Rashid Khan's debut as the permanent Afghanistan skipper across all forms of the sport.

A total of five players have been left out of the squad that faced off against Ireland earlier this year including senior wicketkeeper Mohammad Shahzad, who was handed a one-year suspension by the board for breaching the code of conduct.

Also Read: Afghanistan appoint Rashid Khan as captain across all formats

Considering the spin-friendly conditions offered in Bangladesh, Afghanistan have packed their line-up with four front-line slow bowling options recruiting the uncapped Qais and Zahir in addition to the experienced duo of Rashid and Mohammad Nabi.

Teenage batting sensation Ikram Ali Khil has managed to retain his spot in the side owing to his dazzling performances in the showpiece event though he has been excluded from the 17-man squad announced for the T20 tri-series that follows the solitary Test match.

The T20 tournament will include hosts Bangladesh and Zimbabwe as the third participant.

Gulbadin Naib, who was sacked from his leadership after the catastrophic World Cup campaign, has been picked for the T20I assignment while veteran Samiullah Shinwari has been overlooked for selection.

Three uncapped players Shahidullah Kamal, Fazal Niazai and Rahmanullah Gurbaz will be part of the tri-series scheduled to kick off on September 14.

Chief selector Andy Moles claimed the team was selected keeping in mind the T20I Asia Cup and the ICC T20 World Cup next year.

"We have selected a 17-member squad for the T20I matches as per the advice of the captain as we have two important tournaments; T20I Asia Cup and ICC T20 World Cup 2020 ahead of us," he said.

"We will also consider the performance of players in the upcoming Shpageeza Cricket League and Afghanistan Premier League T20 for future selection."

Afghanistan will begin their tour with a two-day match versus BCB XI on September 1 and 2 before the Test clash three days later in Chittagong.

Test squad

Rashid Khan (c), Asghar Afghan, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Ihsanullah, Ikram Ali Khil (wk), Javed Ahmadi, Mohammad Nabi, Rahmat Shah, Yamin Ahmedzai, Shapoor Zadran, Ibrahim Zadran, Zahir Khan Pakteen, Sayed Ahmad Shirzad, Afsar Zazai, Qais Ahmed

T20I squad

Rashid Khan (c), Asghar Afghan, Mohammad Nabi, Hazratullah Zazai, Najeeb Tarakai, Mujeeb-ur-Rahman, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Najib Zadran, Shahidullah Kamal, Karim Janat, Gulbadin Naib, Fareed Ahmad, Shafiqullah Shafaq, Fazal Niazai, Dawlat Zadran, Naveen-ul-Haq, Rahmanullah Gurbaz