Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
View All Matches
Malinga retained as captain for New Zealand T20Is
Sri Lanka News

Malinga retained as captain for New Zealand T20Is

Lasith Malinga will return to lead Sri Lanka in the upcoming three-match T20I series against New Zealand, while veterans Angelo Mathews and Thisara Perera have been omitted from the 15-member squad announced on Saturday.

Niroshan Dickwella has been named vice-captain for the home series scheduled to commence on September 1.

Malinga, who recently retired from ODI cricket, will captain a revamped side that has witnessed nine changes from the one which competed against South Africa earlier this year.

Mathews and Perera, both aged 30, have been left out as Sri Lanka opted for a youthful set of players.

Perera, who had a poor World Cup where Sri Lanka finished sixth, last represented the national side in the shortest format in March while former skipper Mathews last featured in a T20 game in 2018.

Danushka Gunathilaka is a notable addition to the Sri Lankan squad as his innovative stroke play has often been the center of attention.

Akila Dananjaya was reported for a suspect bowling action during the first Test against New Zealand at Galle but he has still managed to find a spot among the 15 members.

Sri Lanka T20I squad

Lasith Malinga (c), Niroshan Dickwella (vice-capt, wk), Avishka Fernando, Kusal Perera, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis, Shehan Jayasuriya, Dasun Shanaka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Akila Dananjaya, Lakshan Sandakan, Isuru Udana, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara, Lahiru Madushanka