Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
No live scores available
View All Matches
Bangladesh rest Mustafizur Rahman for one-off Afghanistan Test
Bangladesh News

Bangladesh rest Mustafizur Rahman for one-off Afghanistan Test

Mustafizur Rahman has been excluded from the 15-man squad announced by Bangladesh for the upcoming one-off Test against Afghanistan starting next week.

The left-arm paceman was unable to find a spot in the squad owing to his injury woes with the selectors deciding against risking Mustafizur's fitness for the match in Chittagong.

"Mustafizur has a light injury. Since we have only one Test match, we did not want to take any risk. Moreover, we have many matches coming. This is why we rested him," chief selector Minhajul Abedin said.

The other notable omissions from the Bangladesh line-up include veteran opening batsman Tamim Iqbal and pace bowler Khalid Ahmed.

Tamim was granted a break from the game following his request to the board while Khalid recently underwent a knee surgery.

After being rested for the limited-overs series in Sri Lanka, Test skipper Shakib Al Hasan is back in the side.

Taskin Ahmed, who has not featured in a Test match in almost two years, has also been inducted into the squad.

He will be accompanied by Abu Jayed and Ebadat Hossain to form a three-man pace attack as Bangladesh have gone for a spin-heavy approach by recalling all-rounder Mosaddek Hossain.

In the absence of Tamim, wicketkeeper Liton Das is expected to fill in the opening slot having batted in this position in the shorter forms of the game.

Afghanistan will kick-off their tour with a warm-up game against BCB XI on Sunday before playing the third Test of their cricket history on September 5.

The visitors are then scheduled to play a tri-nation T20 tournament from September 13 involving Zimbabwe and hosts Bangladesh as the other participants.

Bangladesh squad

Shadman Islam, Mominul Haque, Soumya Sarkar, Shakib Al Hasan (c), Mahmudullah Riyad, Mohammad Mithun, Mushfiqur Rahim, Liton Das, Taijul Islam, Mosaddek Hossain, Nayeem Hasan, Mehidy Hasan, Taskin Ahmed, Ebadat Hossain and Abu Jayed