Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
No live scores available
View All Matches
Sri Lanka Tour of Pakistan

Thirimanne, Shanaka named captains for Pakistan tour

Sri Lanka have appointed Lahiru Thirimanne and Dasun Shanaka as ODI and T20I captains respectively for the tour of Pakistan.

This decision comes after ten top Sri Lankan players pulled out of the upcoming limited-overs series in Pakistan citing security concerns.

Sri Lanka, making their second trip to Pakistan since the infamous terrorist attacks in 2009, will play three one-day internationals and three T20 internationals between September 27 and October 9.

The absence of senior cricketers who opted out of the tour has paved the way for several youngsters to be inducted into the two squads.

Minod Bhanuka is the sole uncapped player in the 15-member ODI squad while he will be joined by Bhanuka Rajapaksa as the other cricketer yet to make his T20I debut.

Incumbent skippers Dimuth Karunaratne and Lasith Malinga had communicated their unwillingness to visit Pakistan along with Niroshan Dickwella, Kusal Janith Perera, Dhananjaya De Silva, Thisara Perera, Akila Dhananjaya, Angelo Mathews, Suranga Lakmal and Dinesh Chandimal.

Shanaka made his T20I debut against Pakistan four years ago and has participated in 30 matches in the shortest format.

The 28-year-old all-rounder failed to make an impact in the recent T20I series defeat against New Zealand where he scored 24 runs across three innings including a duck.

Thirimanne is a regular member of Sri Lanka's ODI set-up, having played 125 matches in the 50-over format.

Danushka Gunathilaka has been recalled for the series after being excluded from the home ODIs against Bangladesh.

Left-arm wrist-spinner Lakshan Sandakan has also returned to both squads.

The tour includes three ODIs in Karachi and an equal number of T20Is in Lahore with Pakistan Cricket Board hoping Sri Lanka would return for a Test series in December under the inaugural World Test Championship.

ODI squad

Lahiru Thirimanne (c), Danushka Gunathilaka, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Avishka Fernando, Oshada Fernando, Shehan Jayasuriya, Dasun Shanaka, Minod Bhanuka, Angelo Perera, Wanindu Hasaranga, Lakshan Sandakan, Nuwan Pradeep, Isuru Udana, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara

T20I squad

Dasun Shanaka (c), Danushka Gunathilaka, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Avishka Fernando, Oshada Fernando, Shehan Jayasuriya, Angelo Perera, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Minod Bhanuka, Lahiru Madushanka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Lakshan Sandakan, Isuru Udana, Nuwan Pradeep, Kasun Rajitha, Lahiru Kumara

#SLvPAK#Sri Lanka in Pakistan 2019#Pakistan#Sri Lanka