Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
View All Matches
Umar Akmal, Ahmed Shehzad named among 20 probables for Sri Lanka series
Pakistan News

Umar Akmal, Ahmed Shehzad named among 20 probables for Sri Lanka series

Umar Akmal and Ahmed Shehzad have been included in the list of 20 probables announced by head coach and chief selector Misbah-ul-Haq for the training camp due to commence at the National Cricket Academy in Lahore from Wednesday.

The camp is part of the preparations for the limited-overs series against Sri Lanka scheduled to be held from September 27 to October 9.

Misbah will announce the final ODI and T20I squads in Lahore on September 21.

Meanwhile, Mohammad Hafeez and Shoaib Malik have not been named among the probables as they have received No-Objection Certificate to participate in the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) until October 12.

Mohammad Hasnain, whose NOC to play in the CPL was recently revoked by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), has been selected in the probables.

Abid Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan and Usman Shinwari are other cricketers who were not part of the World Cup squad and will partake in the training camp.

Akmal last represented Pakistan in the ODI series defeat at the hands of Australia in March this year, where a poor run of form rendered him out of favour with the selection committee.

Shehzad made his international debut in 2009 but his stop-start career has been beset by disciplinary issues and lack of consistency.

Earlier, Sarfaraz Ahmed was retained as skipper while Babar Azam was appointed vice-captain for the three ODIs and as many T20Is against Sri Lanka.

The series will mark Misbah's first assignment as head coach-cum-chief selector as the first ODI will take place in Karachi on September 27.

Probables for Sri Lanka series

Sarfaraz Ahmed (c & wk), Babar Azam (vc), Abid Ali, Ahmed Shehzad, Asif Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Sohail, Hasan Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Shadab Khan, Umar Akmal, Usman Shinwari and Wahab Riaz