Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
View All Matches
Bairstow axed from England squad; Sibley, Mahmood receive call-ups for New Zealand tour
England News

Bairstow axed from England squad; Sibley, Mahmood receive call-ups for New Zealand tour

Jonny Bairstow has paid the price for an ordinary Ashes series by being left out of England's squad for the two Tests in New Zealand while Dominic Sibley and Saqib Mahmood have been handed their first call-ups to the national side.

Bairstow averaged 23.77 across the five-match series, which was preceded by a pair of ducks against Ireland at Lord's.

The 29-year-old's absence from the side paves the way for Jos Buttler to perform wicketkeeping duties for the red-ball leg of the New Zealand tour.

Meanwhile, Warwickshire opening batsman Sibley has been rewarded for his prolific run-spree in the County Championship with a spot in the side - having earlier been praised by England's director of cricket Ashley Giles.

With injured pace trio of James Anderson, Olly Stone and Mark Wood ruled out of the cricket action, Lancashire seamer Mahmood has been included in the squad.

England have beefed up their batting resources by calling up 21-year-old Zak Crawley, who made his first-class debut in 2017.

Although Jack Leach remains England's leading spinner in the longer format, the selectors have gone for leg-spinner Matthew Parkinson as a back-up option amidst Moeen Ali's decision to take a break from Test cricket.

Ollie Pope has managed to make a comeback to England's Test side after having played two home Tests against India last year.

Mahmood and Parkinson also feature in England's T20I line-up following their impressive white-ball summers with Lancashire.

Somerset opener Tom Banton, who recorded brisk knocks frequently in the Vitality Blast and finished as the tournament's second-highest run-getter, has gotten a chance in the five-match T20 series.

The likes of Buttler, Moeen, Ben Stokes and Joe Root have missed out with the selectors preferring the induction of youth ahead of the T20 World Cup next year.

Uncapped pacemen Lewis Gregory and Pat Brown have been added to the T20I squad while 11-Test veteran Sam Curran is also yet to make his debut in the shortest form of the game.

T20I squad

Eoin Morgan (c), Jonny Bairstow, Tom Banton, Sam Billings, Pat Brown, Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Joe Denly, Lewis Gregory, Chris Jordan, Saqib Mahmood, Dawid Malan, Matt Parkinson, Adil Rashid, James Vince

Test squad

Joe Root (c), Jofra Archer, Stuart Broad, Rory Burns, Jos Buttler, Zak Crawley, Sam Curran, Joe Denly, Jack Leach, Saqib Mahmood, Matthew Parkinson, Ollie Pope, Dominic Sibley, Ben Stokes, Chris Woakes