Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
View All Matches
Bumrah ruled out of South Africa Tests due to stress fracture
India News

Bumrah ruled out of South Africa Tests due to stress fracture

Jasprit Bumrah will not be playing in the upcoming Test series against South Africa owing to a back injury.

Bumrah, placed No. 3 in the ICC Test rankings for bowlers, has "sustained a minor stress fracture in his lower back" according to the BCCI.

Umesh Yadav has been drafted into the Test squad as Bumrah's replacement for the three five-day matches that commence on October 2 in Visakhapatnam.

Bumrah, known for his unorthodox sling-arm bowling action, recently made the headlines after becoming just the second Indian player to take a hat-trick in Test cricket during the series against the West Indies.

The 25-year-old paceman's injury was detected "during a routine radiological screening," the BCCI added.

"He will now undergo rehabilitation at NCA (National Cricket Academy) and will be monitored by the BCCI Medical Team," the board statement read.

Bumrah played the first Test match of his career in January 2018 - two years following his white-ball debut.

He has quickly risen through the ranks to emerge as India's premier paceman even in the longer format where he has claimed 62 wickets in 12 Tests at an impressive average of 19.24.

He also had a stellar World Cup earlier in the summer where he took 18 wickets in nine games.

Bumrah's injury is a major blow to India primarily given the selectors' priority on managing his workload as he was rested for the limited-overs encounters against South Africa and the West Indies with a focus on keeping him fully fit for the World Test Championship.

Yadav has remained on the sidelines for a while now as he last donned the white jersey for India at Perth in December.

The three-match T20I series between India and South Africa was drawn 1-1 with the first match being washed out.

India squad

Virat Kohli (c), Mayank Agarwal, Rohit Sharma, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vc), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant, Wriddhiman Saha, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Shubman Gill