Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
View All Matches
Sourav Ganguly reelected undisputed as CAB president 
India News

Sourav Ganguly reelected undisputed as CAB president 

Sourav Ganguly, the Indian cricket giant, has won unequivocal support from his colleagues once again and has been re-elected until July 2020 as the president of the Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB). 

Nobody else filed their nomination papers against the towering figure of Ganguly. The decision will be ratified on Saturday during the 85th annual general meeting of the CAB.

He assumed the office after the demise of Jagmohan Dalmiya (former president of the Board of Control for Cricket in India as well as the Cricket Association of Bengal) and it will be his second consecutive term as the president of CAB. Also, Dalmiya's son Avishek has been promoted to the position of secretary. 

According to the new CAB constitution, after serving the association for six years - Ganguly had also worked as the joint secretary in 2014 - he will have to take a three-year break before he could become eligible again to hold any position at the CAB.

Other members of the panel constitute Naresh Ojha (Vice President), Avishek Dalmiya (Secretary), Debabrata Das (Joint Secretary), Debasish Ganguly (Treasurer).