Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
View All Matches
Umar Akmal, Ahmed Shehzad return for Sri Lanka T20Is
Pakistan News

Umar Akmal, Ahmed Shehzad return for Sri Lanka T20Is

Umar Akmal and Ahmed Shehzad have returned to Pakistan's squad for the three-match T20I series against Sri Lanka following a lengthy period of absence from the national side.

Pakistan cricket team's head coach and chief selector Misbah-ul-Haq made the announcement regarding the 16-member squad for the T20Is scheduled to take place in Lahore's Gaddafi Stadium between October 5 and 9.

Three changes have been made to the Pakistan side currently participating in the ODI series in Karachi with Abid Ali, Mohammad Rizwan and Imam-ul-Haq missing out for the T20Is.

In addition to Akmal and Shehzad, Faheem Ashraf will be joining the squad for the three short-form fixtures.

All three players were part of the 20 probables named ahead of Sri Lanka's tour of Pakistan but were not inducted into the ODI line-up.

Shehzad last featured for Pakistan in a T20I in June 2018 against Scotland while Akmal appeared in the five-match ODI series against Australia in the United Arab Emirates earlier this year.

Faheem, who has been a regular part of Pakistan's white-ball set-up, was left out of the World Cup squad after a string of mediocre outings in England before the 50-over showpiece event.

Imam recently made his T20I debut against England but will not partake in the forthcoming series owing to an injury to his left hand sustained during the second ODI against Sri Lanka on Monday.

He will be unavailable for selection for the final ODI on Wednesday with Abid most likely to open the innings in his place.

Pakistan will not be able to get the services of pacers Shaheen Afridi and Hasan Ali who have been ruled out due to health issues.

Shaheen is still recovering from dengue whereas Hasan is suffering from a back spasm.

T20I squad

Sarfaraz Ahmed (c), Babar Azam (vc), Ahmed Shehzad, Asif Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Sohail, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Shadab Khan, Umar Akmal, Usman Shinwari, Wahab Riaz