Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
No live scores available
View All Matches
Stokes picked ahead of Root for Leeds-based franchise in The Hundred
The Hundred

Stokes picked ahead of Root for Leeds-based franchise in The Hundred

Ben Stokes has edged out England Test skipper Joe Root for the sole spot reserved for a red-ball contracted player as he was selected by The Hundred's Leeds-based franchise Northern Superchargers.

Stokes, clearly the hottest property in England cricket given his World Cup and Ashes heroics over the summer, was among the five signings allocated to each of the eight teams part of the new 100-ball tournament scheduled to take place next year.

The five picks included one Test player, two local icons and two women's players, who will be participating in the Women's Competition that will run parallel to the men's tournament.

Root, who plays county cricket in Leeds for Yorkshire, was snapped up by Trent Rockets that will be representing Nottinghamshire, Derbyshire and Leicestershire.

"The best players in the world are coming here to compete and we're going to get the chance to test ourselves against them once again. There has never been a more exciting time for cricket," Root later said of the innovative format that will feature overs lasting 10 balls and bowlers choosing to deliver either five or 10 balls on the trot.

Several big names have already given their nod of approval to The Hundred despite hesitancy from certain sections of the cricket fraternity over the viability of the format to garner interest of prospective viewers of the sport.

Among the red-ball players picked ahead of the international players draft planned on October 20, Jofra Archer was selected by Southern Brave while Jos Buttler went to Manchester Originals.

Rory Burns, who has earned a reputation for being a gritty Test opener, will play for London spirit as Chris Woakes represents Birmingham Phoenix.

Jonny Bairstow will be spearheading the batting charge of Welsh Fire even though he too hails from Yorkshire.

"I enjoy Cardiff, I made my England debut there and it's an amazing place," said Bairstow.

"It's a new competition, a new format and new teams. It will feel weird going to Headingley and being in the away dressing room, but it's an amazing honour to be one of the guys to figurehead a team."

World Cup-winning captain Eoin Morgan, originally from Ireland, will be teaming up with head coach Shane Warne for the Lord's based London Spirit.

England's two leading wicket-takers in Test cricket James Anderson and Stuart Broad were not chosen by any of the eight franchises.

Colin Ingram, who took the Kolpak route to Glamorgan five years ago, was the only non-England qualified player in the list of players finalized.

Birmingham Phoenix: Chris Woakes, Moeen Ali, Pat Brown, Amy Jones, Kirstie Gordon

London Spirit: Rory Burns, Dan Lawrence, Eoin Morgan, Heather Knight, Freya Davies

Manchester Originals: Jos Buttler: Saqib Mahmood, Matt Parkinson, Kate Cross, Sophie Ecclestone

Northern Superchargers: Ben Stokes, Adil Rashid, David Willey, Lauren Winfield, Linsey Smith

Oval Invincibles: Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Jason Roy, Laura Marsh, Fran Wilson

Southern Brave: Jofra Archer, Chris Jordan, James Vince, Anya Shrubsole, Danni Wyatt

Trent Rockets: Joe Root, Harry Gurney, Alex Hales, Nat Sciver, Katherine Brunt

Welsh Fire: Jonny Bairstow, Tom Banton, Colin Ingram, Katie George, Bryony Smith