Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
No live scores available
View All Matches
Sindh claim victory in last-over thriller after Babar Azam ton
National T20 Cup

Sindh claim victory in last-over thriller after Babar Azam ton

Sindh edged past Central Punjab to clinch a thrilling three-wicket win in the second match of the National T20 Cup at the Iqbal Stadium in Faisalabad.

Having been set a daunting target of 189, Sindh got off to a rapid start owing to a quickfire half-century from opening batsman Khurram Manzoor.

However, Manzoor's dismissal for a 42-ball 50 left his side in a dire position at 87-3 in the 12th over with the asking rate reaching in excess of 12 runs per over.

Sindh captain Asad Shafiq and Pakistan skipper Sarfaraz Ahmed then stitched a blazing 49-run stand in 20 balls, putting pressure back on the Central Punjab bowlers.

Shafiq departed for a 23-ball 45 featuring two maximums and four boundaries while Sarfaraz contributed with 30 runs off 18 deliveries.

Later, Anwar Ali played an enterprising cameo of an unbeaten 22 off 10 balls, knocking off the remaining runs in the company of Kashif Bhatti on the penultimate delivery of the match.

Earlier in the contest, Babar Azam displayed a batting masterclass to bring up his third T20 century of the year.

The Central Punjab captain smashed five sixes during his superlative knock of 102 not out, helping his side post an imposing total of 188-3.

Jolted by two early strikes in the Powerplay, Babar stabilized the innings with a steady partnership with Umar Akmal, putting on 86 runs for the third wicket.

The dismissal of Akmal was followed by Rizwan Hussain's stormy stay at the crease as he provided his team with the boost to end their innings on a high note.

Babar, who had an ordinary outing in the recently concluded T20I series against Sri Lanka, employed the use of nifty wristwork to punish the bowlers with his impeccable drives all over the park.

His remarkable effort could not guide Central Punjab to victory but it places him on the No. 1 spot in the run-scorers list after the first day of the competition.