Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
No live scores available
View All Matches
Malinga returns to lead Sri Lanka squad for Australia T20Is
Sri Lanka News

Malinga returns to lead Sri Lanka squad for Australia T20Is

Dasun Shanaka will be relinquishing the T20 captaincy to make way for Lasith Malinga to lead Sri Lanka for the Australia tour later this month.

Shanaka was at the helm of the young and inexperienced Sri Lanka squad's T20I series whitewash over top-ranked Pakistan in Lahore recently.

Meanwhile, three other players, who opted out of the Pakistan tour owing to security concerns, have made a return to the 16-member contingent including Kusal Perera, Niroshan Dickwella and Kusal Mendis.

Sri Lanka have retained top performers Bhanuka Rajapaksa and Oshada Fernando, both of whom made their T20I debut against Pakistan.

Rajapaksa smashed a 48-ball 77 in the second game of the three-match series before Oshada, compared to Mahela Jayawardene by Sri Lanka chief selector Ashantha de Mel, struck 78 not out off 48 deliveries in the subsequent encounter.

22-year-old leg-spinner Wanindu Hasaranga consistently brought about the wreckage of Pakistan's batting line-up as he bagged the man of the series prize.

He will be in action alongside fellow wrist-spinner Lakshan Sandakan forming a potent spin attack against Australia.

The opening match of the series will be played in Adelaide on October 27 while the second game takes place in Brisbane on October 30.

The final game is scheduled to be held at the MCG on November 1 and two days later Pakistan will take on Australia for the first of three T20 matches.

T20I squad

Lasith Malinga (c), Kusal Perera, Kusal Mendis, Danushka Gunathilaka, Avishka Fernando, Niroshan Dickwella, Dasun Shanaka, Shehan Jayasuriya, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Oshada Fernando, Wanindu Hasaranga, Lakshan Sandakan, Nuwan Pradeep, Lahiru Kumara, Isuru Udana and Kasun Rajitha