Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
No live scores available
View All Matches
Waqar Younis to lead bowlers camp over the weekend
Pakistan News

Waqar Younis to lead bowlers camp over the weekend

With Waqar Younis taking the reins as the bowling coach recently, he has been tasked with staging a bowlers camp on October 19 and 20 at Qaddafi Stadium, Lahore.

The selection committee has called up 15 top-performing bowlers from the ongoing Quaid-e-Azam Trophy and the National T20 Cup taking place in Faisalabad. The T20 cup will observe a two-day break and the management has decided to utilize the window to work on the skillset of pacers.  

Mohammad Abbas and Shaheen Shah Afridi will be present in the camp as well. The former was given a break as part of his workload management and the latter has just recovered from an ailment.

The camp will allow the coaches to assess the fitness levels and shortcomings before the all-important Australia tour that will kick off with the T20I series with the series opener scheduled on November 3.

The newly-appointed bowling coach while explaining the objectives of the camp said: “As the National T20 Cup has a two-day break, we thought of utilising this time by holding bowlers camp in Lahore with multiple objectives. But, this does not mean that the selectors have limited their selection options to these 11 bowlers. The selectors have an open mind and bowlers who are best suited to the formats and conditions on the upcoming tour will be selected.”

Misbah-ul-Haq, chief selector and head coach will be accompanied by Test captain Azhar Ali, for overseeing the camp.

Bowlers to partake in the camp include:

Bilal Asif (Central Punjab), Bilawal Bhatti (Southern Punjab), Imran Khan Snr (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa), Kashif Bhatti (Sindh), Mohammad Abbas (Southern Punjab), Mohammad Irfan Junior (Slow left-arm, Southern Punjab), Musa Khan (Northern), Mohammad Mohsin (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa), Naseem Shah (Central Punjab), Rahat Ali (Southern Punjab), Sameen Gul (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa), Shaheen Shah Afridi (Northern), Tabish Khan (Sindh), Yasir Shah (Balochistan) and Zahid Mehmood (Southern Punjab)