Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
View All Matches
Virat Kohli rested, Sanju Samson recalled for Bangladesh T20Is
India News

Virat Kohli rested, Sanju Samson recalled for Bangladesh T20Is

India have opted to rest captain Virat Kohli for the three-match T20I series against Bangladesh next month but the star batsman will resume his leadership role for the two Tests following the short-form games.

Rohit Sharma, the incumbent skipper of current Indian Premier League champions Mumbai Indians, will lead the team in the absence of Kohli.

The selectors have made a few surprising calls with pace sensation Navdeep Saini being dropped in favour of Shardul Thakur while uncapped all-rounder Shivam Dube has been drafted into the side in place of the injured Hardik Pandya.

Former India captain MS Dhoni continues to be overlooked for selection in T20Is – a trend that has persisted since the conclusion of the 2019 World Cup, during which his conservative batting approach was heavily criticised.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Sanju Samson has staged a comeback into the team four years after a mediocre international debut against Zimbabwe.

Samson's inclusion provides competition to first-choice wicketkeeper Rishabh Pant, who has struggled for form in recent times.

India, presently occupying the No. 1 spot in the World Test Championship, have named a full-strength squad for the two Tests against Bangladesh.

Left-arm spinner Shahbaz Nadeem misses out in the squad following his debut in the final Test at Ranchi.

Pace bowling spearhead Jasprit Bumrah is still recovering from a stress fracture in his lower back and will be not be involved in the cricket action.

The tour was earlier clouded under the threat of cancellation after Bangladeshi players boycotted all cricketing activities over a pay dispute.

The matter was finally resolved amidst talks between the two parties with the series scheduled to commence on November 3.

Bangladesh's first assignment under the inaugural Test championship will begin on November 14 in Indore.

T20I squad

Rohit Sharma (c), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Sanju Samson (wk), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (wk), Washington Sundar, Krunal Pandya, Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, Deepak Chahar, Khaleel Ahmed, Shivam Dube, Shardul Thakur

Test squad

Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Shubman Gill, Rishabh Pant (wk)