Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
No live scores available
View All Matches
Pakistan placed alongside Zimbabwe and Bangladesh in ICC 2020 U-19 World Cup
ICC 2020 U19 World Cup

Pakistan placed alongside Zimbabwe and Bangladesh in ICC 2020 U-19 World Cup

Pakistan will kickstart their U19 World Cup campaign against Scotland on 19th January next year and are placed in Group C alongside Scotland, Zimbabwe and Bangladesh. The tournament will be hosted by South Africa - who will set the championship rolling against Afghanistan.

Pakistan has won the ICC U19 Cricket World Cup twice before in 2004 and 2006 and finished as runners-up on three occasions. India were crowned champions in the last U19 World Cup in 2018.

International Cricket Council (ICC) announced the tournament schedule today (Thursday) as 16 teams will partake in the 24-day long fiesta that will run from January 17 until February 9 2020. The final will be played at Benoni's JP Marks Oval. 

Pakistan will play its second group stage match against Zimbabwe in Bloemfontein on January 22 and the final group stage tussle will be against Bangladesh on January 24.

The two table-toppers from each group will qualify for the Super League stage while the other teams will play in the Plate Championship.

The Super League will roll from January 28 and the top four teams emerging will then make the cut for the semifinals. The winners will lock horns for the trophy on February 9.

 ICC Under-19 2020 World Cup Schedule © PCB

ICC Under-19 2020 World Cup Schedule © PCB

Left-arm spinner Hassan Khan spearheaded the Pakistan side in the 2018 World Cup in New Zealand, where they were defeated by India in the semi-finals. Hassan is also the mainstay in the Quetta Gladiators squad. 

Shaheen Afridi was the biggest find for Pakistan as he took the world by storm with his power-packed performances in the last edition and is now a potent speedster in Pakistan's national team pace arsenal.

The tournament history dates back to 1988. The event has been staged once every two years thereafter with India winning the marquee tournament four times, Australia winning it thrice while England, South Africa and the West Indies have all clinched the trophy once.

The top eleven full ICC members together with five regional champions will play the warm-ups from January 12-15 in Pretoria and Johannesburg. 

Nigeria and Japan are the newcomers who will join regional qualifiers Canada, United Arab Emirates and Scotland to challenge the big guns.