Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
View All Matches
Williamson ruled out of England T20I series with hip injury
New Zealand News

Williamson ruled out of England T20I series with hip injury

Kane Williamson has been forced to withdraw from New Zealand's squad for the upcoming five-match T20I series against England due to a right hip injury.

Tim Southee will be assuming the captaincy role having previously led his team to a 2-1 series win over Sri Lanka in September.

Williamson had turned out for Northern Districts earlier this week in the Plunket Shield clash against Canterbury but the medics have advised him rest to recover from the injury.

“We’ve been monitoring the injury for a while now and it’s the same issue that ruled him out of the final Test against Bangladesh back in March,” New Zealand coach Gary Stead said.

“It’s disappointing timing for Kane at the start of an exciting Kiwi summer, but we feel it’s the right decision with a busy season ahead."

“We’re fortunate to have someone experienced like Tim who can comfortably step in and take the reins, as he successfully did on the recent tour of Sri Lanka,” he added.

As part of the player-rotation policy to manage the workload of the pacers, Lockie Ferguson and Trent Boult will be partially available for the series.

Ferguson, returning from a broken thumb, has been named in the squad for the first three games before making way for Boult for the final two matches.

“In working with Trent and looking at the season ahead, we feel another four-day game will provide him with the best preparation for the upcoming Test series against England and Australia,” Stead argued.

Blair Tickner, who has not featured for New Zealand since his debut against India in February, has also been included in the squad.

James Neesham returns to the national side with his last international appearance being the dramatic World Cup final loss to England in July.

The T20I series kicks off on November 1 while the first Test commences on November 21.

T20I squad

Tim Southee (c), Trent Boult (after third game), Colin de Grandhomme, Lockie Ferguson (for first three games), Martin Guptill, Scott Kuggeleijn, Daryl Mitchell, Colin Munro, James Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Tim Seifert (wk), Ish Sodhi, Ross Taylor, Blair Tickner