Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
View All Matches
Bangladesh name Mahmudullah, Mominul as captains for India tour
Bangladesh News

Bangladesh name Mahmudullah, Mominul as captains for India tour

Bangladesh have confirmed Mahmudullah Riyad and Mominul Haque as the new T20I and Test captains for next month's India tour following the suspension of Shakib Al Hasan for failing to report corrupt approaches.

The last-minute revisions to the squads were made in the wake of injury blows and the ICC's decision to ban Shakib after a week of turmoil in Bangladesh cricket that earlier threatened the cancellation of the tour.

Top Bangladesh players, spearheaded by the star all-rounder, had announced their boycott of all cricket activities forcing the country's cricket board to negotiate and accede to their demands.

The absence of Shakib has paved the way for left-arm spinner Taijul Islam to be drafted into the side while middle-order batsman Mohammad Mithun will be replacing Tamim Iqbal, who withdrew from the forthcoming series to spend time with his pregnant wife.

Imrul Kayes will serve as Tamim's replacement for the two Tests, having previously played for the national side last year against the West Indies.

Pacer Abu Hider has earned a call-up to the T20I lineup to fill in for injured all-rounder Mohammad Saifuddin.

Opening batsman Saif Hassan is the sole uncapped member of the Test squad, having impressed the selectors with his consistent batting performances in the domestic National Cricket League.

Despite concerns over Mustafizur Rahman's fitness to thrive in the gruelling five-day format, he is part of the Test setup and will be supported by fellow paceman Al-Amin Hossain, who also returns to the side.

Mominul's maiden stint as Test skipper will be under the scanner as he kick-starts his team's campaign in the World Test Championship.

Mahmudullah has captained Bangladesh in five T20I games in the past, winning one and losing four matches.

Bangladesh are scheduled to play their first T20I on November 3 while the two-Test series commences on November 14.

T20 squad

Mahmudullah Riyad (c), Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Naim Sheikh, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mohammad Mithun, Afif Hossain, Mosaddek Hossain, Aminul Islam, Arafat Sunny, Taijul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, Shafiul Islam, Abu Hider, Al Amin Hossain

Test squad

Mominul Haque (c), Shadman Islam, Imrul Kayes, Saif Hassan, Liton Das, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah Riyad, Mohammad Mithun, Mosaddek Hossain, Mehedi Hasan, Taijul Islam, Nayeem Hasan, Mustafizur Rahman, Al-Amin Hossain, Abu Jayed, Ebadat Hossain