Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
No live scores available
View All Matches
Home
>
News
>
Kane Williamson cleared to bowl in international cricket
New Zealand News

Kane Williamson cleared to bowl in international cricket

Kane Williamson can resume bowling duties after being given the all-clear by the International Cricket Council (ICC) on Friday.

The New Zealand skipper's bowling action was reported by the umpires during the first Test against Sri Lanka back in August.

He was subsequently required to undergo bowling assessment in England last month where it was determined Williamson's elbow extension was within the permitted 15-degree limit.

"The International Cricket Council today confirmed that the bowling action of New Zealand captain Kane Williamson has been found to be legal, and he can continue bowling in international cricket," the ICC's statement read.

The part-time off-spinner occasionally bowls and has also previously been reported for a suspect action in 2014.

Williamson then served a suspension from bowling for a few months before being allowed to bowl following adjustments to his action.

The 74-Test veteran has taken 72 wickets across the three formats in international cricket.

Williamson, who received the player of the tournament prize at the conclusion of the World Cup, is currently out of the national side after his lingering hip injury resurfaced.

His team is facing England in the five-match T20I series with the tourists triumphing in the first encounter by seven wickets.