Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
View All Matches
ICC T20 World Cup: Sri Lanka-Ireland clash to kick off tournament
ICC T20 World Cup 2020

ICC T20 World Cup: Sri Lanka-Ireland clash to kick off tournament

Sri Lanka will take on Ireland in the opening game of the T20 World Cup next year in Australia after the match-ups were finalised following the completion of the Qualifiers.

The two teams will compete in Geelong on October 18 as part of the first round preceding the Super 12s.

Sri Lanka and Bangladesh failed to obtain direct qualification to the Super 12 stage as both teams were ranked outside the top eight in the ICC T20I standings.

They will be joined by six teams that progressed from the recently concluded T20 World Cup Qualifier in the United Arab Emirates.

Sri Lanka and Ireland are accompanied by Oman and Papua New Guinea in Group A while Scotland, Namibia, Bangladesh and Qualifier champions Netherlands feature in Group B.

The top two sides in each group then advance to the Super 12s, which is further divided into two groups of six teams each.

The table-toppers in Group A and second-placed team in Group B will join hosts Australia, number one ranked T20I side Pakistan, New Zealand and title-holders West Indies.

The runner-up in Group A and winner of Group B would find spots alongside England, South Africa, Afghanistan and victors of the inaugural edition India.

Contrary to the playoff system in various T20 leagues around the globe, the T20 World Cup will see semi-finals take place by the end of the Super 12s.

The final is scheduled to be held on November 15 at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.