Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
No live scores available
View All Matches
Injured Shikhar Dhawan to miss West Indies T20Is; Sanju Samson named replacement
India News

Injured Shikhar Dhawan to miss West Indies T20Is; Sanju Samson named replacement

Shikhar Dhawan has been ruled out of the upcoming three-match T20I series against West Indies following an injury sustained during the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy.

The 33-year-old opening batsman suffered an injury in Delhi's T20 encounter against Maharashtra last week while attempting a dive.

Dhawan, who last featured in India's T20I assignment against Bangladesh, still requires "some more time for his stitches to come off and his wound to heal completely", according to the BCCI media release.

His absence has opened the doors for Sanju Samson's comeback to the national side, who was earlier dropped from India's T20I squad after failing to get a single appearance in the Bangladesh series.

Samson has been unable to represent India in a single international game since his T20I debut in 2015 against Zimbabwe despite frequently coming close to breaking into the final XI.

The 25-year-old smashed his maiden double century in List A cricket during the Vijay Hazare Trophy last month that initially earned him a call-up to the Indian side.

He did not have a profitable outing with Kerala in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, though he did manage to score a half-century in four games.

Meanwhile, KL Rahul is expected to be promoted up the order and perform opening duties alongside vice-skipper Rohit Sharma for the short-form fixtures.

BCCI also provided an update regarding Test wicketkeeper Wriddhiman Saha's injury on his right ring finger amidst the pink-ball Test between India and Bangladesh.

Saha copped a fracture, which required a surgical fixation following which he "will soon commence his rehabilitation at the National Cricket Academy, Bengaluru".

It has not been specified for how long Saha will remain out of action as India's next Test series is set to take place in February 2020.

The revised India squad for the three T20Is is as follows:

Virat Kohli (c), Rohit Sharma (vc), KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (wk), Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Deepak Chahar, Mohammed Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Sanju Samson