Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
No live scores available
View All Matches
'I've never seen that happen' - Kohli miffed over late umpire call on Jadeja's run-out
Controversial Dismissal

'I've never seen that happen' - Kohli miffed over late umpire call on Jadeja's run-out

Virat Kohli lashed out at the outside intervention that eventually culminated in ruling Ravindra Jadeja run out in the first ODI of the three-match series against West Indies on Sunday.

The Indian skipper complained about the farcical chain of events involved in Jadeja's dismissal owing to a delayed appeal by the fielding side.

The contentious incident occurred during the 48th over of the Indian innings when Roston Chase flicked the ball onto the stumps at Jadeja's end while the latter hurried for a single.

Chase then let out a faint appeal that was deemed by South African umpire Shaun George as not important enough to send to the TV umpire.

However, replays indicated the batsman was short of his crease and the on-field umpire referred the decision upstairs following another round of appeal initiated by West Indies skipper Kieron Pollard.

Jadeja then had to trudge back to the pavilion for 21, prompting a fuming Kohli to confront the match officials.

"The thought is simple, the fielder asked 'how is that' and the umpire said 'not out'. The dismissal ends there," he later said.

"The people sitting on the TV outside cannot tell the fielders to then tell the umpire to review it again. I've never seen that happen in cricket.

"I don't know where the rules are, where the line is drawn. I think the referee and the umpires have to take that up, see that incident again. And figure out what needs to be done in cricket."

India went on to face a humiliating defeat after contrasting centuries from Shai Hope and Shimron Hetmyer led the visitors to a commanding triumph.

Pollard did not relay his thoughts on the controversial subject but felt the "right decision" had been made.

"For me at the end of the day, the right decision was made, which is important."

"We appealed and the umpire didn't take it at that time, but eventually the right decision was made," said Pollard.