Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
No live scores available
View All Matches
Samson left out as Rohit returns for New Zealand T20Is
India squad

Samson left out as Rohit returns for New Zealand T20Is

India on Sunday announced their squad for the five-match T20I series against New Zealand, which starts January 24.

Rohit Sharma, who was rested for the recently concluded T20Is against Sri Lanka, has been recalled to the side in place of Sanju Samson.

The inclusion of Rohit Sharma will also determine how India settle down their top-order. The presence of KL Rahul and Shikhar Dhawan means either Dhawan or Rahul will sit out or all three of them could play as hinted by Virat Kohli earlier.

Mohammad Shami, who also rested for the Sri Lanka T20Is, is back in the squad. He made only appearance in the West Indies T20I series, which was his first game since July 2017.

The other two front-line pacemen are Jasprit Bumrah and Navdeep Saini. They will be backed up by Shardul Thakur and Shivam Dube.

In the spin-bowling department, Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav have all retained their places.

India T20I squad for New Zealand tour

Virat Kohli (capt.), Rohit Sharma (vice-capt.), KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (wk), Shivam Dube, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Navdeep Saini, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur