Recently Finished
Live Cricket
Upcoming Matches
No live scores available
View All Matches
Chatara out of Sri Lanka Tests; Zimbabwe name five debutants in squad
Zimbabwe News

Chatara out of Sri Lanka Tests; Zimbabwe name five debutants in squad

Tendai Chatara will not be a part of Zimbabwe's Test squad for the upcoming two-match series against Sri Lanka at home after sustaining a bicep injury in a domestic match.

Zimbabwe's selectors have opted for a revamped Test unit by including as many as five uncapped players in the 15-man squad.

The five debutants are pacer Charlton Tshuma, opener Kevin Kasuza, spinner Ainsley Ndlovu, Victor Nyauchi and Brian Mudzinganyama.

The team will be led by newly appointed skipper Sean Williams, who has taken over the captaincy reins from Hamilton Masakadza.

Ace all-rounder Sikandar Raza has returned to the national set-up after being left out of the T20 squad during the tri-nation series in Bangladesh last year.

Raza was withdrawn from the team following a disciplinary issue raised by ex-captain Masakadza against him.

His inclusion adds much-needed experience to the relatively young Zimbabwe squad turning up for their first dose of Test cricket in over a year.

Zimbabwe last played a series in the five-day format amidst their tour of Bangladesh in 2018 where they drew 1-1 in a spirited display.

Several members who accompanied the Zimbabwe contingent in that tour will be in action against Sri Lanka with the likes of Brendan Taylor, Craig Ervine, Kyle Jarvis and Regis Chakabva returning to the Test arena.

PJ Moor and Ryan Burl are the two surprising omissions from the Test side given the duo's spate of fine performances in the shorter formats.

Moor set up a blistering charge in his previous outing in international cricket against Singapore when he slammed a 60-ball 92 in October 2019.

The first Test between the two sides will commence on January 19 at the Harare Sports Club.

Zimbabwe squad

Sean Williams (c), Sikandar Raza, Regis Chakabva, Craig Ervine, Kyle Jarvis, Kevin Kasuza, Timycen Maruma, Prince Masvaure, Brian Mudzinganyama, Carl Mumba, Ainsley Ndlovu, Victor Nyauchi, Brendan Taylor, Donald Tiripano, Charlton Tshuma